The Samovar


Atheism in 10 minutes
October 26, 2010, 1:19 pm
Filed under: Religion | Tags: ,

I haven’t been blogging much for quite a long time, mostly because I haven’t had the time to write any long, carefully argued posts. So as not to let this blog become totally moribund, I thought I might post a few shorter, incomplete entries. So, let’s kick off with a video someone sent me last night giving a very brief (10 minute) statement of “lack of belief” as a definition of atheism. It’s sort of unarguable in some sense. (Or is it just that it says things I agree with?)

2 Comments

actually i wonder if his claim that one starts life as a `tabula rasa’ with no beliefs is really tenable? it’s kind of central to the structure of his argument. it seems likely to me that belief comes before knowledge. actually i don’t see how you can know anything (including science) without various belief structures.

there are quite a few other problematic points, like his claim that a perfect being is in contradiction with worship.

of course his critiques of stupid religious positions are good, but that is quite easy…

Comment by sean

Tabula rasa is not tenable, but I think it’s reasonable to say that we start life without any belief in God specifically. Maybe he didn’t express that well, but I’d say that uncontentious?

Agreed that the perfect being argument was weak – in fact, a complete non sequitur.

What I liked about it is that he says the (obvious, to us) things about how atheism doesn’t mean belief in the non-existence of Gods, it just means no particular belief in the existence of Gods.

Comment by Dan | thesamovar




Comments are closed.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

