The Samovar


Christmas pudding mayhem
December 22, 2006, 12:51 am
Filed under: Food

Hmm I said I wasn’t going to find time to do any more blogging before Christmas – but this is necessary for posterity.

This year I have been asked to make a very large number of puddings – not for Christmas day itself but for all the social gatherings and what-not around Christmas. After perusing my best pudding cookbooks (Heston Blumenthal, Michel Roux, Gordon Ramsay, The River Cafe) I’ve decided on the following:

  1. Walnut, Almond, Chocolate and Amaretto tart
  2. Prune and Armagnac custard tart
  3. Lemon and Passion Fruit Tartlets

This will use:

  • 800g butter
  • 350ml cream
  • 1kg caster sugar
  • 10 vanilla pods
  • 18 eggs

It is going to be a very, very fat Christmas – and that’s not even including the Christmas pud and mince pies.

3 Comments

Wow, those all sound fabulous! Good thing I won’t be around. 😉

Comment by azahar

On reflection, we decided to scale back a bit – the prune and armagnac custard tart is out. 😦 Another time though, definitely!

Comment by Dan Goodman

Desserts, you say?

http://flamingpiecafe.blogspot.com/2007/01/crme-mont-blanc.html

(And I’ve found my archive disk now, so I may ask you to do the honours shortly…)

Comment by Edward the Bonobo




Comments are closed.



