The Samovar


Je suis à Paris
September 8, 2007, 6:00 pm
Filed under: Frivolity

Alors! Je suis arrivé à Paris et j’ai commencé à travailler.

Just two pics and then this blog will return to its usual political and gastronomic self:

Me with tea and cake in my new apartment (and new haircut, hmmm, not happy):

dan-with-tea.jpg

My local market street, the rue Mouffetard:

la-mouffe.jpg

I still don’t have internet at home so it will be a little while until there are even semi-regular postings on this blog…

6 Comments

Lol. Sorry.

Comment by Alastair

You look quite at home and comfortable! And the haircut is fine… can’t imagine anything making you any less handsome. So, is that your street? Where you live? Have you started work yet?

Okay okay, I’ll stop with all the questions now and wait for a bit more info … and I think it’s your scrabble turn. 🙂

Comment by azahar

An emphasis on the gastronomic, I hope!

Comment by Edward the Bonobo

Alastair – lol @ which bit? Or all of it? Damn you. It’s not such a bad haircut.

az – didn’t you read the French bit at the beginning? 😉 J’ai commencé à travailler = I’ve started work (unless I’ve fucked up the French which is not impossible!). Fortunately, I’m not living on that street, but it’s right by where I work so I can pop in after work (open until 7pmish) and pick up some tasty treats (see below).

Ed – well, being in Paris does open some interesting gastronomic possibilities. The large and cheap bag of girolles I bought the other day were rather nice both in an omelette and in a risotto (although they’re an arse to clean if you don’t want to be munching on grit). I’m slightly concerned that my gastro-entries (not related to gastroenteritis – at least I hope not) might start to take the form of food-bragging during my stay here…

Comment by Dan | thesamovar

Read your blog??? Nah, I just look at the pictures. 😉

But yes, your French looks okay to me, which actually doesn’t mean much. How are you getting on at work speaking French? Does anyone there speak English?

Comment by azahar

I sometimes try, but they all speak English much, much better than I speak French. That will change though…!

Comment by Dan | thesamovar




Comments are closed.



