The Samovar


The penultimate multilemma
December 27, 2006, 11:24 pm
Filed under: Film

Following on from The Ultimate Dilemma, which was considered to be a bit narrow, is the slightly less significant but wider question – which is the most over-rated film? Please use the IMDB top 250 films list to identify candidates. I’m going with (in no particular order):

  • Citizen Kane (IMDB 23rd best film) – read my review here.
  • Silence of the Lambs (IMDB 27th best film) – how did this joke of a film ever get mistaken for something serious? I mean seriously, I’m having an old friend for lunch??
  • The Shawshank Redemption (IMDB 2nd best film) – for consistently being number 2 on the IMDB rankings. It’s not a bad film, but it’s nothing special. It’s based on a Stephen King story people!

Anyone who suggests Dr Strangelove will be in trouble, I warn you now!


5 Comments

“Anyone who suggests Dr Strangelove will be in trouble, I warn you now!”

Guess this explains why nobody has commented here . . . 😉

Comment by azahar

Never been here before- but stumbled across your blog while visiting my friend Edward the Bonobo.

From that list, I’d choose

“Pulp Fiction”- I enjoy the film, but I do find films which wave their “cleverness” in my face like I’m getting a lap dance to be a bit over-rated in general.

“It’s A Wonderful Life”- trite and boring.

Meanwhile, “Dr. Strangelove” is in my Top 10 Best Movies Ever!

“Requiem For a Dream”- I hated this one so much I’ll be darned if I can single out any particular reason.

Comment by psychocandy

az – hah! OK you win this round…

psychocandy, I’m another H2G2 ex-pat (Dogster over there). Completely agree with you about Requiem for a Dream – in fact anything by Aronovsky (or whatever his name is). That particular film irritated me because it was like watching a school anti-drugs film except more pretentious.

I liked Pulp Fiction although I can see what you mean about it.

And thanks for the support on Dr Strangelove – az has an evil campaign against it for some reason.

Comment by Dan Goodman

Ah, that’s just cos I’m evil, along with my trusty sidekick … 😉

Comment by azahar

This one’s easy. Casablanca.

Comment by Edward the Bonobo




Comments are closed.